icon_facebook  icon_twitter  icon_instagram 

 

 

Prenatal Yoga


This class is taught by:

Laura Baker

Laura completed her 200 hour teacher training at Stray Dog Yoga Studio in 2015. Laura aims to meet her students where they are in their practice, inviting them to develop a loving self awareness of their bodies and minds on and off their mats through light-hearted yet intentional vinyasa flows.
Pregnancy is a time of change, both physically and mentally. It can be exciting, yet apprehensive as our bodies change with the growth of new life! Prenatal yoga is a wonderful compliment to staying healthy and fit during pregnancy. Unlike other forms of exercise, prenatal yoga can ease the stress pregnancy puts on the body, calm the mind, and prepare the body for delivery. Strengthen and open hips and shoulders, and learn strategies to help ease the back pain that develops during the later trimesters. Mothers will also learn a mula bandha practice in order to tone and prepare the pelvic floor, vital to health prior to and after delivery. Also learn pranayama exercises that help during delivery, and with insomnia as the pregnancy progresses. Finally relax in a restorative position designed to help the body release, allowing for mental and physical rest. This class is perfect for those new to yoga, as well as the seasoned practitioner.Gretchen Dudek, E-RYT, taught prenatal yoga at Oxford Athletic Club for over six years, during which she worked with many expecting mothers and was able to address specific needs, and develop a class which she found helped prior to, during and after delivery. Many of the infants she taught in the womb, later joined her for preschool yoga!

Upcoming classes:

  • Sun Jan 06 7:00 pm - 8:15 pm with Laura Baker
  • Sun Jan 13 7:00 pm - 8:15 pm with Laura Baker
  • Sun Jan 20 7:00 pm - 8:15 pm with Laura Baker
  • Sun Feb 03 7:00 pm - 8:15 pm with Laura Baker
  • Sun Feb 10 7:00 pm - 8:15 pm with Laura Baker
  • Sun Feb 17 7:00 pm - 8:15 pm with Laura Baker
  • Sun Feb 24 7:00 pm - 8:15 pm with Laura Baker
  • Sun Mar 03 7:00 pm - 8:15 pm with Laura Baker
  • Sun Mar 10 7:00 pm - 8:15 pm with Laura Baker
  • Sun Mar 17 7:00 pm - 8:15 pm with Laura Baker
  • Sun Mar 24 7:00 pm - 8:15 pm with Laura Baker
  • Sun Mar 31 7:00 pm - 8:15 pm with Laura Baker
  • Sun Apr 07 7:00 pm - 8:15 pm with Laura Baker
  • Sun Apr 14 7:00 pm - 8:15 pm with Laura Baker